Dolly Love

I have to admit that this little project has set me down a new road that I am enjoying immensely.  There is something very special about creating treasured items for your children and this one, for me, has been the most special. 

Meet Fay. 

fay1

She was created from the pattern Kit, Chloe, and Louise over at WeeWonderfuls.  I knew the minute I saw Hillary’s dolls on her blog that I wanted to make one for my daughter.  Fortunately, she posted the patterns for sale in enough time to get her done before Christmas.  This also gave me the opportunity to use some of my luscious fabric to make some fun outfits for her.  This dress was  made from one of Anna Maria Horner’s lines.  The orange shirt was from probably my all-time favorite designer, Valori Wells (which, admittedly, changes often because there is just so much great stuff out there).  

fay3

fay4

fay51

I had first made the body and wig from the pattern using a different type of yarn but wasn’t satisfied with her size, nor her hair.  Those who know my daughter, know she has curly hair that spirals and I really wanted the doll to reflect parts of my DD in her.  I found this chunkier yarn that was variegated and messed around with the yarn until I found a way to get that look.  As much as I love the hair on her, the photos make her look as if she’s “all hair.”  That’s okay though.  I still love her. 

k

5 Responses to “Dolly Love”

  1. Steph Says:

    The pigtails are too adorable! I love her hair, her clothes, her face- everything about her! Great job, Kathryn!

  2. Lorilee Says:

    She is beautiful! I love her hair. All of her hair! My favorite are her little shoes 😉

  3. Carl and Thais Says:

    Love the crayon tots and dollies!!!
    Wow, you are so good!!!!

  4. Tanya Says:

    Sew cute! Do you mind sharing what yarn you used?


Leave a Reply

