Fly, Birdie. Fly!!!!

One of the challenges of having dogs, especially faithful-to-their-breed retrievers, is that the big, red one loves to capture anything that scampers within his domain (which is every square inch of our property).  Seriously.  Earlier in the day I had the displeasure of finding a final resting place for the fuzzy little flop-eared that said-red-dog presented to me upon waking.  Thanks.

Red Dog:

rockrt

After returning from the quilt show with my brother and his family in tow we discovered this, red dog’s latest victim:

photo

Fortunately, this one was still alive.  I think the dogs became distracted by our return.  I can’t explain it any other way.  Normally, this would be dinner.  Sad.  I know.  I hate that aspect of having this dog.  However, I guess he’s just doing what nature is telling him to do.  The naughty little thing!!!  

I inspected this lovely white bird (not certain if it can be called a white dove or white pigeon -neither of which are wild around here) and noted that he is quite torn up under his wing and also has a small puncture wound on the top of the other wing.  Clearly a result of big-red-dog’s mouth.  I kept the bird in a box last night (can’t fly) but knew something must be done in the interim to keep it more comfortable.  So….my brother came back up today (sweet husband working) and helped my little man create a “bird condo.”  I didn’t even have to go to Lowe’s or Home Depot for supplies!  We managed to find everything we needed to construct the condo.  Johnny (brother) gave A some wood working lessons including working with the table saw.  I couldn’t find any safety goggles (I know. I know) but he used my sunglasses.  Cool, eh?  

photo3

This is the end result.  No laughing.  We used what he had and it was a quick put together.

photo4

Tomorrow we’ll be headed over to PetCo or Petsmart to inquire about general first-aid care for the pretty little thing.  Then…I have no idea.  We can’t keep the bird and I wouldn’t want to.  I hate to see it confined to such small space and am only doing so until it can be rehabilitated.  Hopefully, I’ll find someone at one of those locations that will be a wealth of knowledge and all will be resolved soon.  Until then, it was a great afternoon project for my eager little man to work on.  Good job, A (and thanks little brother).  

k

2 Responses to “Fly, Birdie. Fly!!!!”

  1. Lorilee Says:

    No laughing! That is fantastic! They really did well. Poor Red Dog. Those eyes say to me “I didn’t mean to do wrong” 🙂


Leave a Reply

